Go to main content

Collected Works Part Three

September 22, 2021 | Music

Volume 3 in the COLLECTED WORKS series presents you some fantastic recordings from August 1970. Just as with the tracks on volume 2 these recordings are an addition to the brilliant 50th anniversary release. There should be no need to re-release the same recordings presented on that release.  The tracks selected for this set are either unreleased or not issued the way they are presented here. That means more complete, uncut and unedited.

For the first time, you can hear the rehearsals of the backing vocalists singing along with acetates during the August 4 rehearsal. Also, all uncut and unedited versions of the August 7 rehearsal are included. For example, you can hear Elvis suggests to Dennis Sanders (as a joke we hope) to hang Lamar from the balcony, which got a big laugh from the insiders present. Again the recordings that are officially released are left out to avoid offering the same material over and over again.

The official release of the AUGUST 10 rehearsal has been a big subject of discussion. Unfortunately the songs are not recorded in their entirety.  On the official releases these recordings have been made complete for listening pleasure. Although the results were pretty good, the necessary editing resulted in parts of the original recordings being cut. Here we present you the original rehearsal as recorded on august 10  1970. These recordings are remastered & speed corrected using the latest technology, with great result. 

As a bonus this deluxe package contains the LOST PERFORMANCES on DVD (for the first time!). This fan favorite has not been released on dvd until now.  
This limited edition (including 16 page booklet) is now available.


01  You Don’t Have To Say You Love Me           August   4, 1970
02  Twenty Days & Twenty Nights      August   4, 1970
Above: Felton Jarvis with Millie Kirkham, 
The Sweet Inspirations & The Imperials
03  Conversation About Gigi & Bitsy Mott     August   4, 1970
04  Conversation                     August   7, 1970
05  You Don’t Have To Say You Love Me     August   7, 1970
06  Conversation                      August   7, 1970
07  The Next Step Is Love - incomplete      August   7, 1970
08 Oh Happy Day # 1 – incomplete       August   7, 1970
    Oh Happy Day # 2                      August   7, 1970
09  Fooling Around              August   7, 1970
10  I’ve Lost You - incomplete              August   7, 1970
      Above: Uncut rehearsal part
11  Winding Down / Oh Happy Day      August   7, 1970
12 You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feelin’ #1              August 10, 1970
13 You Don’t Have To Say You Love Me #1      August 10, 1970
14 Polk Salad Annie #1                      August 10, 1970
15 I’ve Lost You #1              August 10, 1970
16 I Just Can’t Help Believin’              August 10, 1970
17 Something                      August 10, 1970
18 Sweet Caroline                      August 10, 1970
19 You Don’t Have To Say You Love Me #2      August 10, 1970
20 Polk Salad Annie #2                      August 10, 1970
21 I’ve Lost You #2              August 10, 1970
22 Bridge Over Troubled Water                   August 10, 1970
23 Patch It Up                      August 10, 1970
24 Can’t Help Falling In Love              August 10, 1970

25 Oh Happy Day #1 - Oh Happy Day #2             August   7, 1970
26 I’ve Lost You - incomplete             August   7, 1970
      Above: Uncut rehearsal part in stereo

27 Dressing Room Conversations             August 10, 1970
28 Dressing Room Conversations             August 10, 1970
29 I Just Can’t Help Believin’             August 10, 1970
30 Backstage Conversations             August 10, 1970
31 Backstage Conversations & Oh Happy Day     August 10, 1970
32 Backstage Right Before The Opening Show      August 10, 1970
    That’s All Right                       August 10, OS

Early in 1986, during a routine inspection of the underground vaults at the MGM/Turner library in Kansas, a pallet loaded with cans was discovered. The cans contained numerous original negative trims and outtakes from “That’s The Way It Is” and “Elvis On Tour”, which have now been edited together to create this fabulous compilation, a must for fans and collectors.

Source:For CD Collectors Only
Gladyslove wrote on September 23, 2021
Is there realy unreleased material on it ? Official or unofficial.
Mike Johnson wrote on October 09, 2021
I don't understand why these bootleggers included the Lost Performances DVD. Okay, it was previously on VHS but a 'bootleg' DVD was released and the quality is the same.