Go to main content

A Legendary Performer Volume 9 (Madison)

July 02, 2021 | Music

After a long break (believe it or not, our last release dated back to 2009), the Madison label is back with a number of new releases to delight you. 
One of our favorite projects was the Legendary Performer volumes, and we are continuing with this series with many new volumes in the pipeline.  Our plan is to include many unreleased tracks - which is very rare nowadays, as most releases offer nothing new.

Our first release is A Legendary Performer Volume 9 and is dedicated to “The Crazy Canuck”.  In this volume we have included a number of unreleased tracks and it comes - as you have come to expect from the Madison label - with a beautiful 16 page booklet.

In this new volume we have included 23 tracks that will offer something for everybody. For example,
‘(Let’s Have A) Party’ has never sounded better (it has been taken from a different source master).  We have also included an unreleased alternate take of ‘I’ve Got Confidence’ from 1971, and ‘Stay Away’ (Take 13) appears for the first time in pristine stereo, not the fake stereo that is now popular these days.  The same goes for the x-rated version of ‘Only The Strong Survive’, which appears in true stereo for the first time. Also, we have included the previously unreleased take 10 of ‘Padre’.  Meanwhile, ‘Stranger In My Own Hometown’ is the unedited, overdubbed, master which comes in great sound and runs for a full 5 minutes, while ‘Promised Land’ (Take 1) is taken from a different mix and sounds so much better – along with many others (see below).

Stay tuned, we are back!

Track listing:

01. Maybellene [Reworked version August 20, 1955]
02. Don't Be Cruel [Live, September 9, 1956]
03. (Let's Have A) Party  [a better-quality source master] *
04. Got A Lot O Livin' To Do!  [Movie version - composite - from an acetate] *
05. Ain't That Loving You Baby [Fast version - spliced takes 7,8 & 1] 
06. Fountain Of Love [Takes 8, 6] 
07. The Bullfighter Was A Lady [Takes 2 & 3, Spliced] 
08. Please, Don't Drag That String Around [Takes 3, 5]
09. Memphis, Tennessee [1963 - Rejected Master]
10. Easy Come, Easy Go [Take 9]
11. Stay Away [Take 13 in Stereo]*
12. Only The Strong Survive [Take 6 – ‘Dear Georgie’ - X-Rated)*
13. Stranger In My Own Hometown  - [Unedited, overdubbed master] *
14. I've Got Confidence [Take 3, From Acetate] *
15. Padre [Take 10] *
16. It's Over [April 10, 1972 Multi-Track from Acetate] *
17. I Got A Feelin' In My Body [Unreleased studio rehearsal with take 1]  *
18. Promised Land [Take 1 - X-rated version – Better Mix] *
19. Let Me Be The One [Home Recording, April 1974] 
20. Love Coming Down [Undubbed Master] 
21. And I Love You So [March 17, 1976 - live edit]
22. My Way [March 27, 1977]
23. For Ol’ Times Sake (Duet with Tony Joe White)

*Previously Unreleased

Source:For CD Collectors Only